Friday, September 08, 2006

Of Cars and Men

I want to set such a good language example for my kids. I try and always say please and thank you. The word "stupid" is officially outlawed in our house, and expletives are limited to "oh shoot" "oh my goodness" and "crud". (although the occasional "crap" or "frik(ken)" can be heard when I hurt myself.) But sometimes, I just can't contain myself, and I watch myself in horror from outside my body when, after some ***hole not ONLY decides to drive 20kph in front of me, he takes up BOTH lanes of traffic! I lay on my horn and shout "YOU MORON!" in front of Ben, who watches in silence from the back seat. I hope in vain that he hasn't been watching the whole thing with a keen sense of interest, and I continue home, pumped full of righteous indignation.

About 5 minutes later, we're driving down the main street and I figure my lapse of sanity has come back to kick me in the ass when Ben says to me.

"Mommy look at that BIG TOOL right beside you"

My eyes momentarily bug out of my head, and I ask

"Big tool?"

"Yeah see that really really BIG TOOL?"

I look over and see, at a construction site, a massive piece of machinery that looks like it might be used as some kind of drilling attachment, and reply;

"You're right honey, that's a really big tool"

"I KNOW!"

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

We are trying to stop using "fricken" ever since the other day when Paul started pulling the car out of the driveway and Izzy said, "Wait till I get my fricken seatbelt on."